October 11th
16:15 CEST
II SESSION – Principle two: conflicts-of-interest avoidance or management
October 12th
14:30 CEST
How new corporate governance tools impact agms: the effect of shareholder engagement on voting policies and practices
Margaret M. Foran
Chief Governance Officer, SVP and Corporate Secretary Prudential Financial, Inc.
Ms. Foran is Chief Governance Officer, Senior Vice President and Corporate Secretary of Prudential Financial, Inc. She has been a corporate governance leader throughout her career at Sara Lee Corporation, Pfizer, Inc. and J.P. Morgan & Co., Inc. Ms. Foran is a director on the Board of Orion Group Holdings, Inc. and serves as the Chair of the Compensation Committee. From December 2010 through May 2020, she served on the Board of the Occidental Petroleum Corporation, where during her tenure, she served as Chair of its Sustainability and Shareholder Engagement Committee, Compensation Committee and Governance Committee. Ms. Foran previously served on the Board of The MONY Group and MONY Life Insurance Company. Ms. Foran currently serves as an active member of many influential advisory boards including, co-chair on the Board of Directors of the Council of Institutional Investors, member of the Board of Trustees of the American College of Governance Counsel, the Catalyst’s Advisory Board, the Weinberg Center for Corporate Governance’s Advisory Board, NACD’s Nominating and Governance Committee Chair Advisory Council, The Society for Corporate Governance’s Environmental & Social Working Group, and Executive Director of Prudential’s Sustainability Council. In addition, Ms. Foran was recently selected by The Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) to serve on its Standards and Emerging Issues Advisory Group (SEIAG). Ms. Foran received her B.A., magna cum laude, and J. D. degrees from the University of Notre Dame, where she serves on the law school’s Advisory Committee. She is admitted to the New York, Illinois, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey (In-house) Bars. Additionally, Ms. Foran is NACD (National Association of Corporate Directors) Directorship Certified™.